• Christian College Kattakada

  • 0471-2290243, 0471-2290357

  • info@christiancollegektda.org

BA history

BA History

Christian College Kattakada, the monument of sweat and toil of the SIUC Community of the South Kerala Diocese (Church of South India) was established in the year 1965 with the blessing of the first Bishop Rev. A.H.Legg. It was founded as a Junior College with Pre- Degree batches affiliated to the University of Kerala and it became a graduate College in the eleventh year of its foundation. The college was began to  upgrade from the academic year 1976-77 with History as the main subject and Political Science and Economics as subsidiaries having strength of sixty students ( now raised to eighty and under CBCSS it is 60).

The Degree Course in the College was inaugurated by the then Home Minister Sri.K.Karunakaran on 27-08-1977.The History class was commenced in the ‘Sudarsan.K.Das Memorial Hall’which was constructed with the generous contribution of Mrs.C.K.Das (wife of the first Chief Secretary of Travancore – Cochin State) in loving memory of her son Sudarson.K.Das who died at an early age. The senior most members of the College staff member Mr.J.Lidson Raj became the first Professor and Head of the Department. The Faculty members at the time of College up gradation were Prof.Lidson Raj, Prof.Thankappan Nadar, Prof.P.V.Donald, Prof.A.Raveendran, Prof. Oonnoni, Prof. J. Rajadas and Prof. Nirmala.. Prof. Alfred Vimal Kumar was appointed as Lecturer in the Department in 1977. Sri Rajarathnam , one among the staff member expired in 1999, while he was in active service. Prof. Pinks Daniel, Smt. E.Baby Sarojam Christal J .Jai and R.N.Sathyadas were appointed as Lecturers in 1978.When the shift system was introduced by the University in the academic year 1979-80, the number of the faculty swelled up to 15. But with the introduction  of the Economics Department, they created separate Departments for History, Economics and Political Science. Accordingly the total strength of the Teachers was reduced to ten.

In 1980 Smt. Suma Nirmal was appointed as Lecturer. In July 1990  Prof. Lidson Raj became the Principal of our College on the retirement of Prof. J. Rose Chandran . Then  Smt Lisbeth Swarnam was appointed as Lecturer on the vacancy of the Principal . As a result of the delinking of the Pre-Degree in 2000 and the retirement of many of the Professors, the number of staff members came down to only five. At present the Department of History has only three permanent faculties and 180 students are studying History as core course.

 Succession List of HOD’s

  1. J.Lidson Raj.M.A
  2. J.Rajadas M.A
  3. P.Nirmala.M.A
  4. E.Alfred Vimal Kumar M.A(Eco),M.A(Hist)
  5. E.Baby Sarojam MA,B.Ed
  6. Christal J.Jai MA(Hist),MA(Pol.Sc),M.Phil,Ph.D
  7. T.E.Suma Nirmal MA,B.Ed 

Former Members of the Faculty

  1. Sri.J.Lidson Raj.M.A
  2.  Sri.J.Rajadas M.A
  3. Smt.P.Nirmala.M.A
  4. Sri.E.Alfred Vimal Kumar M.A (Eco), M.A (Hist)
  5. Sri.Rajaratnam MA,B.Ed
  6. Smt.E.Baby Sarojam MA,B.Ed
  7. Pinks Daniel MA,B.Ed
  8. Smt.Lizbeth Swarnam MA
  9. Dr.Christal J.Jai MA (Hist), MA (Pol.Sc), M.Phil, Ph.D
  10. Sri.R.N.Sathyadas MA (Hist), LLB M.Phil
  11. Smt. T.E.Suma Nirmal MA,B.Ed




Head of the Department

Dr. T. Rajesh

Dr. T. Rajesh

Assistant Professor

MA, BEd, PhD


Dr. Shalini S.V.

Dr. Shalini S.V.

Assistant Professor

M.A, B.Ed, Ph.D.

Rev. Dr. T.B. Premjith Kumar

Rev. Dr. T.B. Premjith Kumar

Assistant Professor

M.A, BD, MTh, PhD, DTh

Sealed tenders are invited from the eligible firms for the supply and installation of Double beam UV-Visible Spectrophotometer under KSCSTE Project in the Department of Botany, Christian College, Kattakada.

View Now

Warning: Unknown: write failed: Disk quota exceeded (122) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/tmp) in Unknown on line 0